top of page

Fair Fighting is part of Susan Traugh’s Daily Living Skills series offering life skills and transitional skills for mild-to-moderately affected special needs students and general education students alike. The "Fair Fighting Five" social skills rules (No violence; stay here (and now); listen; no blame/no games; emerge as equals) and practice sessions are provided in easy, airy lessons covering each rule in a clear, concise manner.


Written on a high third/low fourth grade level with airy-pages and bullet-point information for easy independent study, these books, nevertheless, respect teens’ maturity and humor while presenting federally mandated transition skills and Indicator 13 skills needed for adult independence.


Workbooks are meant to be self-paced and adaptable with student interests and goals driving most units. Each lesson is taught in a short one-to-three page format with follow-up worksheets/activities to check comprehension. Real world activities are provided whenever possible.


Lessons in Daily Living Skills Fair Fighting include:


  • Why people fight
  • The value of fighting
  • What kind of fighter are you?
  • Fair fighting five
  • No violence
  • No property damage
  • Cuss words
  • Alternatives to violence
  • Staying in the here and now
  • Listening to hear
  • Listening to problem solve
  • Creating win-win solutions
  • Emerging as equals.


A preview of this book is provided here, or sample the series with our free book—Doing Laundry.

Fair Fighting

    bottom of page